Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote, Mendeley, RefWorks, and Papers

This guide offers basic help for using various citation management systems in addition to answering frequently asked questions and providing NYU-specific information.

About EndNote

EndNote

NYU supports the use of EndNote desktop software for managing bibliographic citations. Using EndNote, you can transfer groups of references retrieved from online bibliographic databases into your EndNote database and create bibliographies in a variety of formats using a variety of word processors. NYU-licensed copies of EndNote software are available free to NYU faculty, staff, and students (for Mac and Windows computers) for work and personal computers.

After installing, you can retain the software after leaving NYU.

Downloading EndNote

Users with a Kerberos ID
NYU MCIT-managed Computers Mac users

 EndNote software is available through MCIT's Mac Software Downloads page. 

PC users

 EndNote software is available through MCIT's PC Software Portal.

For issues downloading Endnote, contact MCIT at: 212-263-6868.

Personal Computers

Supported by the Health Sciences Library

Mac users

 Login with your @nyulangone.org email & password to download the EndNote X9 or Endnote 20 Mac Installer: Access on Microsoft OneDrive

PC users

 Login with your @nyulangone.org email & password to download the EndNote X9 or Endnote 20 Windows Installer: Access on Microsoft OneDrive

For issues downloading Endnote for your personal computer, contact the Health Sciences Library via https://hsl.med.nyu.edu/contact-us

 

Users with a Net ID
   Download EndNote from the NYU Division of Libraries website with NetID and password.
**If you're having issues downloading Endnote, please contact the NYU IT Service Desk at: 212-998-3333.

Getting Started

The NYU Health Sciences Library has made a guide with step-by-step instructions for setting up and using EndNote to manage your citations.

Connect to NYUHSL to Find Full Text

EndNote's Find Full Text feature automatically finds and imports the full text PDFs of references in your library:


1.    Open EndNote (desktop application) and go to the Edit menu. Select Preferences
2.    Select Find Full-Text from the menu on the left side of the new window
3.    Make sure all boxes are checked and enter the URLs below:
     

OpenURL Path: https://sfx.med.nyu.edu/sfxlcl3

Authentication with path: https://ezproxy.med.nyu.edu


4.   To use the Find Full-Text feature, select one or more references in your library and go to the References menu and select Find Full-Text.  EndNote will begin downloading your full-text PDFs if available.

EndNote Web & iPad App

EndNote Web provides access to your reference library from any computer that has an Internet connection. You can share EndNote references with other EndNote Web users, and you can sync references across multiple computers and devices.

  • Go to MyEndNoteWeb.com
  • Sign up using your NYU email address. You can choose your own password.

This app is not available through the NYU institutional license. The EndNote for iPad app enables users to easily view, edit, organize, and share bibliographic research material and PDFs on iPad. Using the app's "EndNoteSync" functionality with your EndNote Online and Desktop versions allows seamless access to your EndNote library from multiple devices and platforms. More information, including frequently asked questions about the app, is available at https://endnote.com/ios