Skip to main content

2019 Opioid Symposium

PAIN MANAGEMENT-DILEMMAS AND SOLUTIONS

National Academies of Sciences, E. M., Health, Medicine, Division,, et al. (2017). Pain Management and the Opioid Epidemic: Balancing Societal and Individual Benefits and Risks of Prescription Opioid Use. J. K. Phillips, M. A. Ford and R. J. Bonnie. Washington (DC), National Academies Press (US) Copyright 2017 by the National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved. Publication type: Report

Hojer Karlsen, A. P., et al. (2015). "Postoperative pain treatment after total hip arthroplasty: a systematic review." Pain156(1): 8-30. Publication type: Systematic Review

Epstein, D. H., et al. (2018). "Science-Based Actions Can Help Address the Opioid Crisis." Trends Pharmacol Sci39(11): 911-916. Publication type:

Hiremath, S., et al. (2017). "Opioid Overuse or NSAID Underuse? A Response to the Pain Guide." Am J Kidney Dis69(6): 865.

Publication type:

Koncicki, H. M., et al. (2017). "In Reply to 'Opioid Overuse or NSAID Underuse? A Response to the Pain Guide'." Am J Kidney Dis69(6): 865-866.

Publication type:

Mercadante, S. (2019). "Potential strategies to combat the opioid crisis." Expert Opinion on Drug Safety18(3): 211-217. Publication type:

Rowe, C., et al. (2019). "Community-Based Response to Fentanyl Overdose Outbreak, San Francisco, 2015." Journal of Urban Health96(1): 6-11. Publication type:

OPIOIDS FOR PAIN

O'Brien, T., et al. (2017). "European Pain Federation position paper on appropriate opioid use in chronic pain management." Eur J Pain 21(1): 3-19. Publication type: Position Paper

Fishbain, D. A. and A. Pulikal (2018). "Does Opioid Tapering in Chronic Pain Patients Result in Improved Pain or Same Pain vs Increased Pain at Taper Completion? A Structured Evidence-Based Systematic Review." Pain MedicineDec 28 [Epub ahead of print]. Publication type: Systematic Review

Els, C., et al. (2017). "High-dose opioids for chronic non-cancer pain: an overview of Cochrane Reviews." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 10: Cd012299. Publication type: Systematic Review

Wiffen, P. J., et al. (2017). "Opioids for cancer pain - an overview of Cochrane reviews." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 7: Cd012592.

Publication type: Systematic Review

Assouline, B., et al. (2016). "Benefit and harm of adding ketamine to an opioid in a patient-controlled analgesia device for the control of postoperative pain: systematic review and meta-analyses of randomized controlled trials with trial sequential analyses." Pain 157(12): 2854-2864.

Publication type: Systematic Review

Michna, E., et al. (2014). "Systematic literature review and meta-analysis of the efficacy and safety of prescription opioids, including abuse-deterrent formulations, in non-cancer pain management." Pain Medicine 15(1): 79-92. Publication type: Systematic Review

Nuckols, T. K., et al. (2014). "Opioid prescribing: a systematic review and critical appraisal of guidelines for chronic pain." Annals of Internal Medicine 160(1): 38-47. Publication type: Systematic Review

Noble, M., et al. (2010). "Long-term opioid management for chronic noncancer pain." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews(1): Cd006605.

Publication type: Systematic Review

Krebs, E. E., et al. (2018). "Effect of Opioid vs Nonopioid Medications on Pain-Related Function in Patients With Chronic Back Pain or Hip or Knee Osteoarthritis Pain: The SPACE Randomized Clinical Trial." JAMA 319(9): 872-882.Publication type: RCT

Berterame, S., et al. (2016). "Use of and barriers to access to opioid analgesics: a worldwide, regional, and national study." Lancet 387(10028): 1644-1656. Publication type: Longitudinal Study

Ekstrom, M. P., et al. (2014). "Safety of benzodiazepines and opioids in very severe respiratory disease: national prospective study." BMJ 348: g445. Publication type: Prospective Study

Preuss, C. V., et al. (2019). Prescription of Controlled Substances: Benefits and Risks. StatPearls. Treasure Island (FL), StatPearls Publishing

StatPearls Publishing LLC. Publication type: Online Book (?)

Kyriacou, D. N. (2017). "Opioid vs Nonopioid Acute Pain Management in the Emergency Department." JAMA 318(17): 1655-1656.

Publication type: Editorial

Morrison, R.S.,et al. (2009). A novel interdisciplinary analgesic program reduces pain and improves function in older adults after orthopedic surgery. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society 57(1):1-10. 

Morrison, R.S., et al. (2003). Relationship between pain and opioid analgesics on the development of delirium following hip fracture. The Journals of Gerontology Series 58(1):76-81. 

Morrison, R.S.,et al. (2003). Magaziner J, McLaughlin MA, Orosz G, Silberzweig SB, Koval KJ, Siu AL. The impact of post-operative pain on outcomes following hip fracture. Pain 103(3):303-311. 

ALTERNATIVES TO OPIOIDS FOR PAIN

Jimenez-Almonte, J. H., et al. (2016). "Is Local Infiltration Analgesia Superior to Peripheral Nerve Blockade for Pain Management After THA: A Network Meta-analysis." Clin Orthop Relat Res 474(2): 495-516. Publication type: Network Meta-analysis

Weibel, S., et al. (2018). "Continuous intravenous perioperative lidocaine infusion for postoperative pain and recovery in adults." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 6: Cd009642. Publication type: Systematic Review

White, L. D., et al. (2018). "Efficacy and adverse effects of buprenorphine in acute pain management: systematic review and meta-analysis of randomised controlled trials." Br J Anaesth 120(4): 668-678. Publication type Systematic Review

Hussain, N., et al. (2018). "Equivalent analgesic effectiveness between perineural and intravenous dexamethasone as adjuvants for peripheral nerve blockade: a systematic review and meta-analysis." Can J Anaesth 65(2): 194-206. Publication type Systematic Review

Hussain, N., et al. (2017). "Investigating the Efficacy of Dexmedetomidine as an Adjuvant to Local Anesthesia in Brachial Plexus Block: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of 18 Randomized Controlled Trials." Reg Anesth Pain Med 42(2): 184-196. Publication type Systematic Review

Lee, E. N. and J. H. Lee (2016). "The Effects of Low-Dose Ketamine on Acute Pain in an Emergency Setting: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis." PLoS ONE 1(10): e0165461. Publication type Systematic Review

Wang, L., et al. (2016). "Ketamine added to morphine or hydromorphone patient-controlled analgesia for acute postoperative pain in adults: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized trials." Can J Anaesth 63(3): 311-325. Publication type Systematic Review

Weibel, S., et al. (2016). "Efficacy and safety of intravenous lidocaine for postoperative analgesia and recovery after surgery: a systematic review with trial sequential analysis." Br J Anaesth 116(6): 770-783. Publication type Systematic Review 

Varrassi, G., et al. (2017). "Multimodal analgesia in moderate-to-severe pain: a role for a new fixed combination of dexketoprofen and tramadol." Current Medical Research & Opinion 33(6): 1165-1173.  Publication type: Review

Ruzek, M., et al. (2019). "ED treatment of migraine patients has changed." Am J Emerg Med37(6): 1069-1072. Publication type: 

Goodman, C. W. and A. S. Brett (2019). "A Clinical Overview of Off-label Use of Gabapentinoid Drugs." JAMA Internal MedicinePublication type: Review 

 

TREATMENT OF ADDICTION AND OVERDOSE

Kampman, K. and M. Jarvis (2015). "American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) National Practice Guideline for the Use of Medications in the Treatment of Addiction Involving Opioid Use." J Addict Med 9(5): 358-367. Publication type: Clinical Practice Guideline

Crowley, R., et al. (2017). "Health and Public Policy to Facilitate Effective Prevention and Treatment of Substance Use Disorders Involving Illicit and Prescription Drugs: An American College of Physicians Position Paper." Annals of Internal Medicine 166(10): 733-736. Publication type: Position Paper

Gowing, L., et al. (2017). "Buprenorphine for managing opioid withdrawal." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2: Cd002025. Publication type: Systematic Review

Nielsen, S., et al. (2016). "Opioid agonist treatment for pharmaceutical opioid dependent people." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews(5): Cd011117. Publication type: Systematic Review

Minozzi, S., et al. (2014). "Detoxification treatments for opiate dependent adolescents." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews(4): Cd006749. Publication type: Systematic Review

Rahimi-Movaghar, A., et al. (2013). "Pharmacological therapies for maintenance treatments of opium dependence." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews(1): Cd007775. Publication type: Systematic Review

Minozzi, S., et al. (2011). "Oral naltrexone maintenance treatment for opioid dependence." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews(2): Cd001333. Publication type: Systematic Review

Minozzi, S., et al. (2009). "Maintenance treatments for opiate dependent adolescent." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews(2): Cd007210.

BACKGROUND: The scientific literature examining effective treatments for opioid dependent adults  Publication type: Systematic Review

D'Onofrio, G., et al. (2015). "Emergency department-initiated buprenorphine/naloxone treatment for opioid dependence: a randomized clinical trial." JAMA 313(16): 1636-1644. Publication type: RCT

Haight, B. R., et al. (2019). "Efficacy and safety of a monthly buprenorphine depot injection for opioid use disorder: a multicentre, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3 trial." Lancet 393(10173): 778-790. Publication type: RCT

Doe-Simkins, M., et al. (2014). "Overdose rescues by trained and untrained participants and change in opioid use among substance-using participants in overdose education and naloxone distribution programs: a retrospective cohort study." BMC Public Health 14: 297. Publication type: Retrospective Cohort Study

Nunes, E. V., et al. (2018). "Relapse to opioid use disorder after inpatient treatment: Protective effect of injection naltrexone." Journal of Substance Abuse Treatment 85: 49-55. Publication type: 

Morgan, J. R., et al. (2018). "Injectable naltrexone, oral naltrexone, and buprenorphine utilization and discontinuation among individuals treated for opioid use disorder in a United States commercially insured population." Journal of Substance Abuse Treatment 85: 90-96. Publication type: 

D'Onofrio, G., et al. (2017). "Emergency Department-Initiated Buprenorphine for Opioid Dependence with Continuation in Primary Care: Outcomes During and After Intervention." Journal of General Internal Medicine 32(6): 660-666. Publication type: 

Kosten, T. R. and L. E. Baxter (2019). "Review article: Effective management of opioid withdrawal symptoms: A gateway to opioid dependence treatment." Am J Addict 28(2): 55-62. Publication type: Review

Volkow, N. D., et al. (2019). "Prevention and Treatment of Opioid Misuse and Addiction: A Review." JAMA Psychiatry 76(2): 208-216.Publication type: Review

Noble, F. and N. Marie (2018). "Management of Opioid Addiction With Opioid Substitution Treatments: Beyond Methadone and Buprenorphine." Front Psychiatry9: 742. Publication type: Review

Schuckit, M. A. (2016). "Treatment of Opioid-Use Disorders."New England Journal of Medicine 375(4): 357-368. Publication type: Review

Connery, H. S. (2015). "Medication-assisted treatment of opioid use disorder: review of the evidence and future directions." Harv Rev Psychiatry 23(2): 63-75. Publication type: Review

COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT, PUBLIC POLICY

National Academies of Sciences, E., et al. (2018). The National Academies Collection: Reports funded by National Institutes of Health. Advancing Therapeutic Development for Pain and Opioid Use Disorders Through Public-Private Partnerships: Proceedings of a Workshop. Washington (DC), National Academies Press (US) Copyright 2018 by the National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved. Publication type: Report

Potier, C., V. Laprevote, F. Dubois-Arber, O. Cottencin and B. Rolland (2014). "Supervised injection services: what has been demonstrated? A systematic literature review." Drug Alcohol Depend 145: 48-68. Publication type: Systematic Review

Soelberg, C. D., et al. (2017). "The US Opioid Crisis: Current Federal and State Legal Issues." Anesthesia & Analgesia 125(5): 1675-1681. Publication type: Review

Kral, A. H. and P. J. Davidson (2017). "Addressing the Nation's Opioid Epidemic: Lessons from an Unsanctioned Supervised Injection Site in the U.S." Am J Prev Med 53(6): 919-922. Publication type:

 Welch, A. E., A. Jeffers, B. Allen, D. Paone and H. V. Kunins (2019). "Relay: A Peer-Delivered Emergency Department-Based Response to Nonfatal Opioid Overdose." Am J Public Health 109(10): 1392-1395. Publication type:

Irvine, M. A., M. Kuo, J. A. Buxton, R. Balshaw, M. Otterstatter, L. Macdougall, M. J. Milloy, A. Bharmal, B. Henry, M. Tyndall, D. Coombs and M. Gilbert (2019). "Modelling the combined impact of interventions in averting deaths during a synthetic-opioid overdose epidemic." Addiction 114(9): 1602-1613. Publication type:

Baker, D. W. (2017). "The Joint Commission and the Opioid Epidemic-Reply." JAMA 318(1): 92. Publication type: Letter